Scuttlebutt News: Best Video from Volvo Ocean Race 2008-2009
Scuttlebutt Today
  Archived Newsletters »
  Features »
  Photos »

Scuttlebutt Forum
For all your commentary, questions, and updates.

Click here to view.

Scuttlebutt News:

Volvo Ocean Race 2008/9 - Best Footage From Each Leg

As part of the bid to promote the role of the Media Crew Member (MCM) onboard each boat, Inmarsat, the technology sponsor of the Volvo Ocean Race, is putting up a cash prize for the best piece of footage coming off the boats on each leg. There is also an overall cash prize.

Scuttlebutt has partnered with Inmarsat to help showcase the work of the MCM, and will be posting the award winning footage following each leg.

Leg 1 - Leg 2 - Leg 3 - Leg 4 - Leg 5 - Leg 6 - Leg 7 - Leg 8 - Leg 9 - Leg 10
Complete Media Crew Member list

Best footage from Leg 8
Galway, Ireland to Marstrand, Sweden

Telefonica Blue
GABRIELE OLIVO, 30. The only Italian in the race he will be in charge of reporting on life onboard “Telefónica Blue”. It’s also the first time he has done a Volvo ocean Race. Lives in Valencia. He’s a competitive sailor and has reached the podium in classes such as the TP52, Farr 40 and GP 42 classes. In June this year he became a World Champion at the Sardinia Rolex Cup as a Telefónica team crewmember onboard the TP52 skippered by Pedro Campos. Birthday 31st March.

(June 12, 2009) - At the official prizegiving for Leg 8, the trophy and prize money (€1,000) for Excellence of media material (video, photography, audio, copy) was awarded to Gabri Olivo onboard TELEFONICA BLUE. Both Ericsson media crew members were nominated with Gustav Morin (E3) in second and Guy Salter (E4) in third. Ericsson should be proud of its media men who delivered first class drama. Morin’s continued well-framed stories and the humour of his crew shone through and Guy Salter captured the explosive first night from Galway as winds hit 40 knots and E4 suffered two broaches and a shattered steering pedestal.

On this leg it seems the MCMs tested the tolerance of their crews in a tight, physical and sleep-deprived environment. Professional sailors have not been used to such close media enquiry and tension was never far away.

“From the material delivered, it is now clear that the crews are 100% behind their MCM, not only to win the award, but to get this race out to its global audience” said Chris McLaughlin, VP External Affairs, Inmarsat.

Says McLaughlin: “Gabri Olivo had a deserved win on this leg. His interviews with Bouwe Bekking showed the on-board tension and turmoil as the helmsman weighed his options in the shifting conditions to Marstrand. Telefonica Blue’s crew allowed him to map their lows and highs. Gabri has demonstrated increasing confidence in story telling, filing numerous reports in English and capturing moments of high drama across all media output. Bouwe Bekking and crew are to be congratulated for opening-up to their MCM and delivering their race to millions”.

This was a very close decision. Only a point separated Olivo from Gustav Morin. The E3 MCM captured an outstanding sequence as Richard Mason recommended a critical sail change. He then shot the process of the gybe and sail change from several telling angles, giving the viewer a real feeling of involvement.

The drama onboard Ericsson 4 when it nearly came to grief in storm-driven seas, was captured by Salter’s professionalism and presence of mind to hit the “Store” button. His footage from the stern camera as the boat lay nearly flat was very dramatic. These incidents were followed up with a concisely told story of the repairs. His work on this leg again showed the creative talent that won him the first leg Inmarsat MCM prize.

Rick Deppe aboard PUMA still leads the battle to scoop the 10,000 euro Inmarsat Media Prize for Overall Winner, but his illness on this leg has opened up the competition.

The footage coming off the boats is an unprecedented achievement for a truly Global Sport backed up by the global reach of Inmarsat Fleet Broadband.

The Inmarsat Media Prize is unique as it is the only Film Maker Prize presented in the sailing world. The Overall Winner’s Prize of 10,000 euro will be presented in St. Petersburg by Inmarsat, COO, Perry Melton. Leg nine starts at 13:00 local (11:00 GMT/07:00 EDT) on Sunday 14th June. Each boat is equipped with an Inmarsat Fleet Broadband 500 terminal, offering up to half a megabit of connectivity globally around the world, from a new $1.5 bn, three satellite constellation.

Past Leg winners of the Inmarsat Media Prize are:
Leg 1 Guy Salter/ERICSSON 4
Leg 2 Gabriele Olivo/TELEFONICA BLUE
Leg 3 Rick Deppe/PUMA
Leg 4 Rick Deppe/PUMA
Leg 5 Gustav Morin/ERICSSON 3
Leg 6 Gustav Morin/ERICSSON 3
Leg 7 Rick Deppe/PUMA

FleetBroadband technology has elevated the race to a lifestyle event and the role of the videographer has maximised the value of the sponsorship invested in the teams by brands eager to bring their products and services to a global audience.

For further information on Inmarsat Media Prize, please contact: John Warehand, Inmarsat plc. Tel: +44 20 7728 1579 or, Shireen Crowe, Direct PR Tel: +44 20 7611 6308/+44 7879417177.

Nominated broadcast material from Leg 8

Winning broadcast material from Leg 8

back to top

Scuttlebutt Sailing Club

GMT Composites

Team McLube

Lemon & Line

Newport Shipyard

Kaenon Polarized

 Latest Issue  |  Archives  |  Calendar  |  Photos  |  Classifieds  |  Extras  |  Forum  |   Scuttlebutt Sailing Club  |  Privacy  |  About  |